Gardenbuddies.com-Where friends meet to share their gardens
Yard Long Pole Beans

Garden Forum » Archives » Edibles in the Garden Forum-Archives » Yard Long Pole Beans « Previous    Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Charles  Send Charles a private message!

My Garden
Posted on Sunday, August 13, 2006 - 03:33 pm EST :   Last Buddysize PhotosCopy highlighted text to new message Print Post

This is my first year growing these and, so far, I am very happy with the results.

Some information on them from: http://www.answers.com/topic/yard-long-bean

A pencil-thin legume that resembles a green bean except that it can grow up to about 3 feet long (though it's usually picked at 18 inches or less). Yard-long beans belong to the same plant family as the black-eyed pea. In fact, in parts of China the bean is allowed to mature until full-fledged peas are produced in the pod. Yard-longs have a flavor similar to but not as sweet as that of a green bean, with hints of its black-eyed-pea lineage. The texture of the pod is more pliable and not as crisp as that of a green bean. This legume, also called Chinese long bean, long bean or asparagus bean, can be found year-round (with peak season in the fall) in most Asian markets and some supermarkets with specialty produce sections. Select those that are small (which equates to younger) and very flexible; the peas should not have matured. Refrigerate in a plastic bag for up to 5 days. Yard-long beans are most often cut into 2-inch lengths and sautéed or stir-fried. Overcooking will make them mushy. These beans are rich in vitamin A and contain a fair amount of vitamin C.

These can grow to be 14 feet high, which my gazebo is not.

These are 18 to 24 inches long now.

A size comparison of my first picked, about 2 feet long. She was tasty raw and I look forward to harvesting enough for a real meal.

Charles - Wisconsin, Zone "A malleable 4b"

Suzyqt1968  Send Suzyqt1968 a private message!