Gardenbuddies.com-Where friends meet to share their gardens
How Long Do Seeds Last?

Garden Forum » Archives » Edibles in the Garden Forum-Archives » How Long Do Seeds Last? « Previous    Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Shrades  Send Shrades a private message!

My Weather
Posted on Thursday, April 26, 2007 - 11:40 pm EST :   Last Buddysize PhotosCopy highlighted text to new message Print Post

This is my first year with a vegetable garden and, I have to admit, I got really excited and bought way too many seeds. Will the unused seeds be good next year, or will I have to buy a whole new batch? Thanks.

Shrades - California, Zone "10"

Greg  Send Greg a private message!

My Favorite Photo
My Weather
My Garden
My Time
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2007 - 07:29 pm EST :   Last Buddysize PhotosCopy highlighted text to new message Print Post

It depends. Seeds can last for decades if stored properly. It also depends on the kind of seed. I don't know much of the details, but you may want to do some searching on the internet for "seed savers". You should find information about how to store your seeds for next year. I think keeping them one year should not hurt the germination rate too much.

Greg - ND, Zone "4"

Cindym  Send Cindym a private message!

Posted on Friday, April 27, 2007 - 09:11 pm EST :   Last Buddysize PhotosCopy highlighted text to new message Print Post

I keep seeds in paper envelopes inside metal cookie tins in the fridge. Most are still viable after 4-5 years. I don't think I've ever pushed it further than that, but I'm sure you could.

Cindym - LA, Zone "8b"

Mimi  Send Mimi a private message!

My Weather
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2007 - 10:10 pm EST :   Last Buddysize PhotosCopy highlighted text to new message Print Post